You’ll never know what you missed


When I was going to school at Full Sail, there was one particular guest speaker that I was really looking forward to: Bob Ludwig.

Bob is a mastering engineer, which is a big deal in the music business and Bob is one of the biggest guys. Mastering, a form of audio post-production, is the process of preparing and transferring recorded audio from a source containing the final mix to a data storage device (the master); the source from which all copies will be produced.  Chances are that if you have listened to popular music in the last 30 years, you have heard Bob’s work (even if you didn’t know it).

One of the reasons I was so looking forward to hearing him speak is that he had done extensive work with Rush, one of my favorite bands.

As it happened, Bob’s presentation was at the end of a long day of lectures in a darkened theater. He had a lot of great information and stories, but there were a few times I felt the day and the dark catching up with me, and noticed my eyelids getting heavy. And then it happened.

Just as I opened my eyes and stretched in my seat, I heard Bob say this: “And that’s what we did on Rush’s Moving Pictures album”.

What?  Seriously? I missed the one thing I really wanted to hear him talk about. He wasn’t on DVR and there was no rewind button. The moment was gone.

How many of these moments happen to us each day, not because we sleep through them, but because we are too busy racing from thing to thing to stop and notice that they are happening?

I’m going to guess that “all too often” is the answer, but would we really know if we missed them?  Hmmm…

Most of us only see a fraction of what our employees do everyday.  Sometimes we may see them do something great and think, “I’ve got to remember to tell them later how cool that was”.  Unfortunately, later often turns into never.

And that’s the problem… we’ve missed a golden opportunity to let our employees know how valuable they are.  It doesn’t have to be a big gesture, but it does need to be sincere.  Even a glance and a smile to a busy employee communicates volumes.

Since you will never know what you missed, it’s a good idea to address the things you DO see.  Your employees will thank you.

Thanks for reading!

About the author: Matt Heller is famous for his ice cube recipes and ability to relate any situation to a Seinfeld episode.  His favorite color is cobalt blue.

Give me your two cents!

