Learning IS Work!


A good friend of mine started a new job today.  I sent him a text a few minutes ago stating that I hoped his first day was going well.  I even told him I didn’t expect a reply because he should working!

A few minutes later, this text comes in:

Vince text copy

So I sent this response:

Vince text copy2

I don’t think my friend is alone in thinking that learning, or being trained, isn’t “work”.  Part of this comes down to the value, or perceived value that is placed on the training process by those who feel it gets in the way (and there are a lot of those people out there).

How many of you have heard something like this, “Okay, you gotta go to this training thing, but hurry back because we have work to do.”

Boom – the value (in that person’s mind) of learning something new has just been solidified.  It ain’t that important.  And when it doesn’t seem that important, less and less effort is exerted to make it meaningful or to seek out opportunities to learn something new.

But learning is work.  Not only in the sense that it is part of the process of being a better leader and a better person, but also in terms of the definition of the word:

Work – exertion or effort directed to produce or accomplish something

Learning (not just sitting and letting information pass by us) takes effort.  Sometimes we have to challenge our established ways of thinking to alter a process (even for the better).  Gaining a new skill or bit of information also helps us produce a result or accomplish something – probably something that you had never been able to accomplish before, likely because you didn’t know enough.

Looking at learning as work also helps us tie the efforts together, making them even stronger as a team.  Tearing them apart and separating them weakens them both.

Thanks for reading!

Matt

Are you worried about how your front line leaders will treat your employees and guests?  Let’s chat about getting them the right development!

4 thoughts on “Learning IS Work!

  1. Well of COURSE I agree with you 1000% … For me, the learning is one of the most fun parts of the journey. You take the new knowledge… try it out and then try some more! What is that they say, “knowledge is power”? Thanks for all you do Matt by spreading the power around! You’re awesome.

    Beth

    • Thanks for the kind words, Beth! And you’re right – if you never try something, you’ll never KNOW if it works or LEARN the best way to do something! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring
    a blog article or vice-versa? My blog covers a lot of the same topics
    as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to send me an e-mail.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

Give me your two cents!

